Weekend Update

With Kevin Nealon! No, all SNL jokes aside… here’s what I’ve been getting into:

I feel like the last three days here have almost perfectly encapsulated what it is like to live in Paraguay: inexplicably dynamic. That’s a short but complex way of saying that things change without cause, plans become foiled for no reason, new opportunities come out of nowhere, and disappear again. With the backbone of this society built on half-truths and corruption instead of logic and justice, things that just don’t happen in the States (a country built on logic) happen frequently here. For example, not every street has street signs, and when I asked why, I was told that it was because they are too expensive. And yet the President’s official offices are garnished with ornate porticos and lighted by hundreds of outside lamps that illuminate the building’s facade at night. The whole city could have street signs on every corner with just the money they spend on electricity each month.

Anyways, I digress. Friday morning myself and the other employee (I’ll refer to him as John for sake of security… hey you never know who reads these things…) went to pick up a shipment and ended up waiting over an hour in the cold while the morons at the particular warehouse tried to locate it. That was the first exemplar of a typical Paraguayan day: a complete lack of efficiency. I mean, what’s really stopping them from buying a ream of paper, a pen, and making labels for their shipments? Something tells me that other warehouses don’t go above and beyond the call of duty either to keep things organized.

Anyhow, let me tell you how sick of the “work all week, don’t do squat on weekends” routine I am. I’ve talked with a few people and they all agree that I just need to say “Hey, I need a break. I’m gonna take some time off or something” and just go somewhere to see the country. I want to make a visit to Cuidad del Este at some point, and I definitely want to visit Argentina. Despite how fortunate I am to be given this opportunity to work here, I didn’t quite get the best deal since Paraguay is one of the most flat and dull landscapes in all of South America. Now granted, that’s not a fair statement because it’s so beautiful and the people are so warm and inviting, but compared to the Andes dramatically jutting out of the ground a few hundred miles west of here, and the pristine beaches of Brazil a few hundred miles east, Paraguay seems to be unfairly squeezed between the juxtaposed landscapes. But that’s how it is and I am thankful for my experience here. My “grass is always greener on the otherside” complex is probably one most of you can relate to.

About this entry